The Best Steak House

Home

Our Menu

Directions

Reviews

Links

Contact Us
The Best Steak House
516 N. Grand Blvd.
St. Louis, MO 63103



Red Hat Ladies Customers rave about their experience at The Best Steak House. Browse through some of the comments below to get a glimpse of what awaits you in our restaurant.

If you have already had the pleasure of dining with us, please share your experience so that we can publish it here.

3/10/2017
This is Steak House is the best I ever been too. I haven't been to not one steak house that can top this place. Our department order 12 plates and every last plate was on point. Each and every bag had everything in their bag.
SLPS ECSE Office
2/23/2017
I had the pleasure of having lunch, with my son, at The Best Steak House, today! It was both of ours first visit and we would definitely go back! Fast, friendly, inexpensive, and delicious! Give it a try!!!
Leslie V
11/11/2016
Love the atmosphere, when you walk in they ask everyone in line what steak you want and how you want it cooked before you even get up to the counter. Really neat. The steaks are cooked to perfection and the sides are great. I highly recommend you try this unique experience and great steaks.
Brett Hente
6/4/2016
Our first time to your place was before a performance at Powell Symphony Hall. Before we walked into the door we suspected the food was going to be good because of the quantity of "to go" orders leaving. This was not only a delicious experience, but was fun and interesting, too!! The prices were amazing. We definitely got the BEST STEAK EVER for an awesome price. The service from the cooks to busers were so friendly, too.
Kara R-Myself and husband
3/17/2016
I had the chicken gyro combo for lunch here. It was the first time I have ate anything from here. It was simply the best thing I have tasted in a long time. It was fresh, the grilled chicken was moist, even the tomato was fresh and juicy. So amazing and great price, this will definately be a frequent lunch spot.
James Lankford
9/15/2015
This place is awesome !!!!!!!!!!. I am a STL resident. I loved it as a kid back in the 70's and I love it , I love it, I love it, I love it NOW. Everytime opportunity I get, I drop by with family and out of state friends...
D.Terry
9/1/2015
It's nice to know that even though I haven't eaten here in years the food still tastes amazing. Definintly brings back good memories from my childhood. I will without a doubt have to eat here again really soon. Five stars all the way! *****'s
James Higgins
8/29/2015
Myself,husband and friends come there and eat and when I say no complaints that's what I mean. The food is very delicious
Ladybug
12/22/2014
I came here for the holidays & DO NOT want to leave. This place is awesome, the food is great, and service was even better. I enjoyed the food so much of course I had to get an order to go. I give them 5 stars.....NEXT!!
Carol Henson
7/6/2014
I Was in St. Louis visiting family and before departing for our trip home we stopped and had a family dinner at The Best Steak House, I am a southern girl( hailing from Pine Bluff, Arkansas) who is very particular about her food and I can truly say that this place nailed it! We had a party of about 15 and everyone was very satisfied and we will patronize this Resturant on our return!!
Melanie Perkins
5/18/2014
After enjoying a show at the Fox today, I stopped by The Best Steak House to see if, in fact, this was the heritage for the West Florissant location where I worked as a busboy back in 1971. The place was packed with patrons patiently waiting for their meal to be cooked--a testament to consistent customer satisfaction. For me it was sureal as the ribeye was served up just as it was in 1971. Thanks for a great meal today and some great memories of yesterday.
Jim Marr-ItWasOutofLove.com
5/16/2014
These guys continue to carry on a fabulous tradition of excellence! I make it a priority to stop by whenever I'm in town and NOT ONE TIME EVER has there been any problems or bad service in over 30 yrs of me visiting this place. The choose the best of the best to join their team and it shows. Always friendly, food always exactly how you want it, always crowded, but don't let that stop you. This team is TALENTED!!!!! They can take a handful of orders with you way in the back of the line and STILL have your order accurate and perfect by the time you are ready to pay. Seating is intimate, but you will be too pre-occupied with the tender, melt-in-your-mouth steaks and garlic toast to pay attention or even care. I'm a customer for life, and a St. Louis tradition I'm most proud of!
ELIZABETH JONES-Atlanta, Georgia
4/29/2014
Excellent customer service with great food at a great price! Conveniently located as well. I always take out of town friends and family members visiting St. Louis to this establishment.
Derrick-St. Louis, MO
12/22/2013
We make a stop to the Best Steak House a tradition when we go to the Fox. This time my daughter and I had the Gyro, and it was AMAZING! Thanks for the good times and good food.
Linda E.
9/6/2013
Googled Steak House & this Name Popped up read last (3) Reviews & was very Satisfied with the Food & Experience. We enjoy a Great Steak & fun place this was it. (5)*****'s
Rae Millikin-(5)*****
3/15/2013
i usually dont write reviews, but i felt that i had to because of how great the restruant is. great food and great prices. excelent service as well. i would highly recomend visiting if you haven't already.
evan d
3/3/2013
It's the only resturant that we will actually "wait" in line for. This time We chose to call for take out. The cashier was sooo pleasant & it was great knowing the order would be ready in 20mins. As I said there was a line out the door, but when i called to see if I could just come in to pick up my order...not only was I surprised she said "Yes" its ready & was but the customers who were waiting in line happily moved to the side so i could get by! And as for the Tbone 12oz steak dinner...it's always bigger than the plate, tender & tasty (ok, Delicious) & Yes, it's worth coming to Every Week! To these United States...Make it your business to get to "THE BEST STEAK HOUSE" in the right location, we the right staff, & the Best Cooks. See ya There! PS God Bless You "Best Steak House"
Chief & Mrs R. Henderson
10/17/2012
I'm headed here today for my fellow co-workers. I grew up eating some of the best food and enjoying the most pleasant service. This place by far is my favorite dining spot here in St. Louis MO. The food has always been fresh and satisfying for botH my family and friends. I just want to say KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK! #STLfinest
Dayuhn Wright-St. Louis Missouri
9/1/2012
I LOVE THE STEAK HOUSE HAVE EVER SINCE I WAS A KID MY DAD USE TO BRING ME HERE EVERY YEAR FOR MY BIRTHDAY TO GET MY FAVORITE MEAL PORTERHOUSE STEAK AND POTATOE AND SINCE MY DAD PASSED AWAY WHEN I WAS 9 I STILL COME EVERY YEAR AND I'M 25 AND HAVEN'T MISSED A YEAR YET(NEVER WILL) IF YOU WANT A THICK JUICEY STEAK COME HERE OUTBACK AND LONG HORN AND ALL THOSE OTHER PLACES ARE NOTHING COMPARED TO THE BEST STEAK HOUSE HANDS DOWN THIS IS THE BEST STEAK HOUSE IN THE US AND I'VE BEEN TO SEVERAL WITH STEAK BEING MY FAVORITE FOOD AND HERE AT LEAST YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR....OUT OF THE 20+ YEARS I'VE BEEN COMING HERE I HAVE NOT BEEN DISAPPOINTED YET AND I OFTEN COME MULITPLE TIMES A YEAR BUT PLEASE KNOW EVERY YEAR ON MY BDAY OR AROUND I'M HERE ORDERING MY PORTERHOUSE IN MEMORY OF MY FATHER WHOM ALSO LOVED THE BEST STEAK HOUSE.
CIERRA PRUITT-MYSELF
8/29/2012
We are planning our Labor Day trip to Saint Louis, MO and the Best Steak House is on our "must visit" list. We have always enjoyed the Porter House, salad and desert choices. We have not been disappointed with your food and service.
Mr. S. Shaw & Family-Kansas City, MO
8/6/2012
My family and I make it a point to dine with Dean Jr., Phil, and Co. on a regular basis and treat our friends & relatives to this wonderful establishment as a first choice when deciding on a place to eat. We just love to hear the grill master bark, "NEXT!". Bottom line: Good food, unpretentious atmosphere, great people, and an excellent City value. They just added a grilled pork steak to the menu and it was delicious.
Marc Lopez
8/4/2012
The food was so good, the staff was so nice and the price was great. We are definitely adding The Best Steak House to our must do list in St. Louis!
Lynn Rose-The Rose Family
5/1/2012
THAT'S WHO I REPRSENT NOBODY,BUT ME
M.COLLINS -FRIENDS AND FAMILY...AND A RESIDENT OF THIS COMMUNITY FOR FOURTY YEARS
2/20/2012
HAVEN'T BEEN HERE IN AWHILE SO WE STOPPED AND HAD A BITE. AND ITS STILL DELICIOUS..WE BE BACK REAL SOON...#BEST BURGER & STEAK
ANGEL BEVLY-BEY-THE FOOD
1/25/2012
AWESOME FOOD...THIS IS THE ONLY PLACE THAT MY GIRLFRIEND WILL EAT STEAK FROM. DELICIUOS TENDER STEAK, YUMMY CRISPY SALADS, SCRUMPTIOUS BAKED POTATOES. WE LOVE YOU ALL.....FOREVER CUSTOMERS
Mariah and Chrissy-Self
12/31/2011
My dad introduced me to the steak house when i was a child and now that i have children i have continued to enjoy the great food and service of the best steak house it is a tradtion in st.louis and in my family !!!
willie woods-live4music.org
3/12/2011
I am actually about to order lunch for pick up as I write this. I have yet to find another establishment that matches the experience, quality of meal, and the prices. I am a college student in Chicago and every time I come back I make sure to get to the steak house. Great people, great food, great landmark in St. Louis. Stay strong & Best Wishes.
David C Blount-Myself and Family
2/23/2011
Being a native St. Louisan, I have enjoyed your menu and great service for years. On my job, we regularly order for lunch. Also when the district has professional developments, we often eat at BSH, when in the area.
D.M. Adams-Self/ Roosevelt H.S.
1/14/2011
I plan on dining there tonight with some friends but have been enjoying the fast service,and delicious food since 1992. Keep making St. Louis happy with your affordable prices and exceptional food and service. Keep up the good work!
carmen adams
5/13/2010
I myself eat at the Best Steak House once a week. After certain events my family eats there also, and we all love the food and the speedy service. I personally love the monterey chicken and the potato. We thank you all for making wonderful affordable food. Keep up the good work.
Kim D. Brown-The Miller Family
2/2/2010
Was visiting from Florida and stopped in with my 90 year old Mom before going to the theatre. What a great experience and ambience. Lovely conversations with the people in line. Very friendly atmosphere and GREAT FOOD at AMAZING PRICES!
Melanie Higgins-self
1/29/2010
I HAVE BEEN PICKING UP LUNCHES FOR LARGE GROUPES FOR ABOUT 10 YEARS FROM THIS AWESOME STEAK HOUSE! I AM A PENNY PINCHER..AND THE PRICES ARE AS GREAT AS THE FOOD! YOU "CANNOT" GET A SANDWICHES AND FRIES THAT TASTE ANY BETTER THAN THIS IN ST.LOUIS! PERFECT!I KNOW, I LOVE TO EAT! THE SAME FACES HAVE BEEN THERE SINCE I STARTED COMING HERE AND THE FOOD IS AS COMFORTING AS THEY ARE...
REGINA PURSLEY-MYSELF AND CO-WORKERS
1/14/2010
Today was our first visit...WOW what an exciting awesome place to eat!!!!! The steak was cooked JUST right..the salad was cold, crisp and yummy..the baked potato hot and delicious....and the Texas toast..no words can describe it we will be REPEAT customers!!!!!
Rebecca Petty
1/17/2009
We are looking forward to being there again with 2 friends of ours tommorrow 1/18/2009.
ed schlogl
6/5/2008
The Best Steak House catered our Staff Recognition Luncheon for 100 employees on June 5th and our staff absolutely loved the food! Everything was wonderful and tasted great - Great Job!!!
Cindy Artz-American Red Cross St. Louis Area Chapter
12/31/2007
Featured on PBS Channel 9, “A Grand Night in St. Louis”. Read more at http://www.ketc.org/whatson/grandnightstl.asp.
KETC Channel 9-St. Louis Public Television
9/15/2006
2006 Business of the Year Award
Mayor Francis Slay-City of St. Louis
10/15/2005
Voted Best Steakhouse, Best of St. Louis Edition “Next!” “Next!” “Next!” And the cooks point down the line, further and further, faster and faster, demanding orders. It’s half past noon on a weekday and you’re at the Grand Center institution that is the Best Steak House (established 1964), a cafeteria-style restaurant teeming with workday life and scrumptious $12 steak dinners and side orders like French fries $1.15 or sour cream 32 cents plus tax. But there’s no time to revel in the bourgeois brilliance of it all. Soon you’ll be “Next!” and you’d better know what you want, because these cooks sweating away at the grill behind the cafeteria shield mean business and so do the two dozen people queued up behind you who want their sixteen ounce bone-in porter house and ten ounce sirloins now. So what’s it gonna be –the $6.25 ribeye special? The steak and shrimp plate? Maybe a chicken monterey sandwich (you weenie!)? Whatever you choose, don’t worry: it’s all good. No –actually it’s the Best.
-Riverfront Times
9/21/2000
Just seconds from (SLU's) campus, the Best Steak House at 516 N. Grand Blvd. serves up the Midwestern staple of meat and potatoes at an affordable price that will leave your stomach and your wallet full after a great meal. "Best Steak House: Simply the Best!"
Peter Eckrich-University News, St. Louis University
5/16/1999
...a microcosm of the American cultural kaleidoscope: The Best Steak House.
Dan Mihalopoulos - Imagine St. Louis: Growing Beyond the Melting Pot-St. Louis Post Dispatch
1/8/1990
The Best Steak House sells both (steak and sizzle) at the same time, and scores high on both counts. Its a slick, speedy, well-run operation, with moderate prices and baked potatoes that are as good as any I've had in St. Louis. The sizzle is obvious from the moment you enter the restaurant..."Best Steak House Produces Both Steak and Sizzle"
Joe Pollack-Business Lunch section-St. Louis Post Dispatch